Skip to content

Mechanical arm research

June 18, 2013

The first assignment received from the 3D Artistry class was to “Design, model, texture and light a 3D Mechanical Arm” and then animate a 30 second animation with the arm interacting with a box in a self made environment. This brief was open ended with what design was required, however it did have requirements and limitations including to reflect on a certain genre such as sci-fi or fantasy,  use polygons only, and use at least a 3 point lighting system to name a few.

When starting the Mechanical arm project, I had a small idea of what I wanted to create. I knew I wanted to have something that resembled and actual arm and hand, however I was unsure as to what genre I wanted to portray. So naturally, the first thing I did was to conduct some research. I also drew a concept of what I may want to create, but scrapped the idea as I thought it looked too Steam-punk.  The following images are the various references I used in making the final mechanical arm.

DSC01403

A concept I did of a mechanical hand

During my research, I became interested in the design of the mechanical arm used in the ‘Terminator’ films. The design suited the hand concept I had, so therefore the ‘Endo arm’ from the Terminator film was used as the main reference of my mechanical arm. The other reference images were used as inspiration for any ‘extras’ on my 3D arm such as various power cords and or tubes etc.

endo_Arm

The ‘Endo Arm’ from the iconic ‘Terminator’ film

endoArm2

A model replica of the ‘Endo Arm’ from the iconic ‘Terminator’ film

EndoArm

The ‘Endo Arm’ from the iconic ‘Terminator’ film

terminatorarm1

Film memorabilia of the ‘Terminator’

endoFingers2

The resin made fingers of an endo arm creation kit

endoFingers

The same fingers as above with a chrome paint added

I__Robot_Arm_by_ChainsawDeathRiot

‘I Robot Arm’ artwork created by Deviant Art artist ‘ChainsawDeathRiot’

industrialArm

Industrial type robotic arm

anakin-arm1

The robotic arm made for Annakin from Star Wars

robotMechArm

Original robot mech arm created by artist Ryan Watkins

terminator-mechanical-arm

Endo arm film prop

terminatorRobotArm

Endo arm film prop

endoArmMaya

A fan made ‘Autodesk Maya’ endo arm

robotic_arm_upgrade_by_frost7-d4670l8

Robotic arm concept art by Deviant Art artist ‘frost7’

EndoArmDisplay1

Endo arm Terminator display kit

EndoArmDisplay2

Endo arm Terminator display kit

From → Modelling

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

